I am a mess!!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MissMulcahy, Sep 11, 2006.

1. MissMulcahy

MissMulcahy Rookie

Sep 11, 2006

I am just a mess! This is my first year of teaching and I feel very overwhelmed!! My students have been in school for three weeks and they have failed two tests. About 1/4 of my class did really poorly on their religion quiz and I had only 1 A on theirsocial studies quiz. Am I not teaching them? Help!

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 11, 2006

I have had failures and poor grades. I think it is just that 5th graders are not aware of how much different the expectations are this year. My top students have done well. It's the average and low ones that are in shock. I don't think it is you.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 11, 2006

That happens at some point to all of us. We think we've explained it all, yet somehow we didn't reach the majority of the kids sitting in front of us. With older kids, it can occasionally be blamed on them-- they were overwhelmed with other stuff or somehow just didn't study. But for kids this young, I'm afraid the solution rests on you.

So, yes, you are teaching them; you're just not reaching them. You need to go back and re-cover the material so they really know it. What you choose to do about the grades is your call: retest, give them the chance to regain the lost points, give them a project of some sort on the same info to boost their grades, whatever.

Be sure they have a very clear idea of what to expect from you on tests: what material (specifically) the test covers, its format, the general directions, and so on.

Hang in there. It really DOES get easier:)

5. ms_chandler

ms_chandler Comrade

Sep 11, 2006