I’ve been teaching for 12 years and I still struggle with this...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by minnie, Jun 20, 2018.

1. minnie

minnie Cohort

Jun 20, 2018

I know that school is over for a lot of you but I am teaching summer school. A few times, I would have a student come up and say “Johnny pushed me down.” And Johnny would say, “No, I didn’t.” They both act sincere. Obviously one is lying. I hate to say, “well, I didn’t see it so...” What do you do when this happens and there are no witnesses?

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jun 20, 2018

I move past the incident (so long as no one is severely injured). I then have the students engage in a peace talk using I-statements. I basically facilitate a brief conversation between them about how they felt about what led up to the incident and what they need from each other in order to get along in the future. Finally, I point out that everyone is okay and has shared their feelings and needs, so it's okay to move on. No one ends up "in trouble" and both students leave having learned how to resolve a disagreement.

4. Been There

Been There Habitué

Jun 21, 2018

Sometimes it can be helpful to seek advice from experts outside of education. Here's an article written by a leading parenting expert that may be applicable to your situation. Alyson Schafer's website includes some relevant videos like this one.

5. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jun 21, 2018

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    cocobean and ecteach like this.
  6. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Jun 21, 2018