How to Survive on a Teacher's Salary

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by vivalavida, Jun 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vivalavida

vivalavida Companion

Jun 28, 2012

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Phenom

Jun 28, 2012

Personally, I've never found it hard to live on a teacher's salary. As a single teacher, I was debt free until I bought my house, which is something I consider good debt. I paid for my masters degree, bought a new car, and had everything I needed and most of what I want.

When I got married, it was more difficult since I was supporting two people . . . one of whom thought money grew on trees. I'm on my own again now, and I'd forgotten how far my salary went with only one person to support.

Living within your means is a matter of priorities.

4. linswin23

linswin23 Comrade

Jun 28, 2012

Nice article! Very encouraging to see that guy making it in this world.

I have to agree with you, Ima. This is the "real money" I've made in my life. I've worked since I was 16 in jobs ranging from fast food to babysitting to retail. All of those pay so little that I feel proud to earn what I make. Yes, I know that we SHOULD be paid more, but I knew how much I was going to make before I got into this profession. There is also room for raises and stipends in this profession, which is something I really look forward to. It encourages me to earn my Master's degree or even higher.

I think that as long as you are not getting in a large amount of debt and it's definitely easy and comfortable to live on a teacher's salary.

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jun 28, 2012