How to prevent students crowding around me at the beginning of class?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by rebeccals, May 13, 2018.

1. rebeccals

rebeccals New Member

May 13, 2018

Hello everyone. Happy May!! Summer is JUST around the corner!!! :D

Anyway, I'm a first year teacher and in these joyful last few weeks I've been spending a LOT of time thinking about things I can do better next year. One problem I've noticed is that at the beginning of each period, 5-6 students are consistently crowding around me, asking things like "Can I borrow a pencil?"/"What will we do today?"/"What did we do yesterday?"/Can I go to the bathroom?"/"Someone took my pencil!"/etc etc etc etc. As a result, I can't keep an eye on what the other students are doing, and I've had problems with students stealing things from my desk, pushing/hitting each other, whatever.

I know many of these problems can be ameliorated by changing my procedures (like getting a pencil and makeup work). But I think it would be best if I was completely free during that time to supervise the students and make sure everyone gets to their bellwork quickly. So, what do you do when students have questions that they need to/try to ask you before class starts? What have you found to be the best time for students to ask you individual questions?

3. Teacher234

Teacher234 Comrade

May 13, 2018

For the future, you would want to address this situation and give a clear expectation to prevent this on the first day of class/school.
    Make sure you immediately have a discussion to reduce this situation from occur.
    State: "At the beginning of class, pick up your handouts, turn in your homework, and go directly to your seat. If you have something you need to tell me or ask me about, write a note to me and leave in the notes bin (create a notes bin). When I am done with whatever I was doing, I will read your notes and address your note. (have students do a warm-up during this time)