How to "overcome" a resume

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by teacherperson123, Jul 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teacherperson123

teacherperson123 Rookie

Jul 8, 2018

Hi there, I'm new here

If there's any advice anyone has, I'd appreciate it. I'm currently out of work for the first time in 4 years, and am having a hard time finding a job. I was warned by the department chair at my last job, as well as other people in our profession this may happen b/c of my resume being "intimidating" to many schools, or seen as not a good fit for most schools and limiting the number of interviews I now get in comparison to when I was a new teacher. If anyone has any tips on how best to work with this I'd appreciate it. So here's where I stand:
    -4 years service credit, some may count a 5th depending on rules
    -CA Clear Social Science credential
    -Phd Political Science
    -Fluent English, Mandarin, and Spanish

-1st job-Taught economics for 1 year at a high school in an agricultural area in CA, nearly all socioeconomically disadvantaged migrant farm workers children, 99% Hispanic. Students still struggled with ELA, but were great, hard working kids. I moved on b/c I was not interested in living long term in a rural area of CA.