How to get new certification as a current teacher (NJ)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ZoeMarie, Jan 15, 2019.

1. ZoeMarie

ZoeMarie Rookie

Jan 15, 2019

I'm in my 3rd year teaching. I currently teach preschool. I'm figuring out that I don't want to teach young students. I have my special education certification so I can teach up to 12th grade special education but I'm not interested in doing that. I would teach 3rd grade but am thinking about possibly getting an English certification. I know I have to pass the praxis but is there anything else I would have to do to get an English certification.

My current certifications/degrees: P-3, Special Education, BA in Family and Child Studies, Masters in Teaching

Thank you!

3. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Companion

Jan 16, 2019

Why English? I only ask because it's a glutted market. It's best to check with State Department of Ed, but definitely Praxis and you will more than likely need at least 18 credits in English, which you may have in your BA, that wil be a determination made by the licensing board. You may want to enroll in some English/Writing courses, even if you have the credits. It depends on what level you want to teach.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Jan 16, 2019

Let me update the previous post. If you are looking for a K-12 English endorsement, you will, in fact, need 30 undergrad credits that are in a logical sequence of a major. If you are looking to teach only through MS, you will need a minimum of 15 credits, but no specific sequence. If you go the K-12 route, you will need to pass the Praxis Exam 5038. If you want to teach through MS instead, you will need to pass Praxis 5047, as well as the Elementary Praxis Series 5001, if you haven't already.