How to decorate high school classroom?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by EngTeacher15, May 29, 2007.

1. EngTeacher15

EngTeacher15 Companion

May 29, 2007

I was a traveling teacher this year, but I'm getting my own classroom next year. I teach high school English. Does anyone have any ideas? How can I creatively and cheaply decorate my classroom? If anyone has pictures of their classrooms, please PM me and I'll send you my e-mail! :) Thanks!

3. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

May 29, 2007

I've been wondering the same thing!
    I want my room to be fun but not too cluttered or childish.

4. sisterto4

sisterto4 Rookie

May 30, 2007

As a first year teacher next year, I'll get to decorate my room here in the next few weeks. :) (The department head is letting me start early!) My plan is to choose my favorite quotes from literary works or literary figures in history and post them all around the room. I'll layer one piece of colored paper on top of another (to create a border) and write one word of the quote on it. Then I'll do it again and again until each word creates the whole quote. I plan to choose a BUNCH of different quotes until I think the room has my own personal charisma. And, I'm partial to stars, so I think I'll do something with stars in our school colors, too.

Oh! And I also want to find some 6-trait posters to hang up too, but I want some freebies. Anyone know where you can get those "cheasy" posters that teachers have around their rooms all the time?

5. weno88

weno88 Companion

May 30, 2007

6. lisap

lisap Companion

May 30, 2007

To begin the year, you might want to start with some simple things like quotes an inspirational/motivational posters. I also like maps (state, county, country or world) because kids like to look at them during down time (before or after class).