How much is too much?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teacherhoosier, Sep 28, 2014.

1. teacherhoosier

teacherhoosier Companion

Sep 28, 2014

As I sit here on a typical Sunday morning (getting lesson plans done before football games in the afternoon), I am reflecting how much is too much? I love teaching and my kids, but honestly, there are some weekends where I just don't want to do anything!

I have been teaching with my grade level partner for three years now. We get along extremely well and work well together. However, the amount of work she takes home astounds me. She will take stuff home even when we both are leaving at 5 on most weeknights. I have a half an hour drive home, so unless its extreme circumstances, I don't take anything home except the odd set of papers to grade or something . I try to be at school by 7:00-7:15 most days just to think through the day and get myself mentally prepared.

There has to be a point where you say no more. I don't know how she keeps this pace up. I have to have some me time in the evenings or I would go totally crazy.

I will take a hour or two on Saturday evenings while I am watching TV to grade center work/do guided reading plans for the week. On Sundays, I try to get started by 9-10 and work until around 1 or so.
    That is about my max limit. Otherwise you don't have any kind of a weekend.

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Sep 28, 2014

I was thinking the same thing this morning. :( I started lesson plans around 9 this morning, and I''ll be done in about an hour. However, I was thinking about going into school (I usually do) after the Packer game to prep everything for the week. Oh, and today is my 1-year wedding anniversary. My husband is enjoying this beautiful day at the dog park, while I stayed back to get my work done. It really really sucks sometimes.

4. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Sep 28, 2014