How much has teaching changed in the last 7 - 10 years?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SageScience, Jul 14, 2017.

1. SageScience

SageScience Companion

Jul 14, 2017

My back story: I was a HS teacher from 2004 - 2011. I left the classroom in 2011 to work in industry. I quit my job two months ago in order to search for teaching jobs and prepare myself to re-enter the classroom.

How has teaching changed since 2011? What things should I take into consideration and expect?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Phenom

Jul 15, 2017

Our standards changed. That's about the biggest thing I can recall.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 15, 2017

Standards
    High stakes testing
    Literacy instruction

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Maven

Jul 15, 2017

Responsibility for literacy instruction throughout all content matter.
    NGSS for those in science.

6. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 15, 2017

NCLB changed to ESSA. That is the biggest deal.

7. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Jul 15, 2017

I've only been teaching since 2010 and I've already seen the pendulum swing back and forth several times as far as instructional practices. The only big difference I notice is that the constant use of technology has become an expectation (and I'm sure this varies by location, this is just what I'm seeing). When I first started teaching the only technology my school had for instruction was Smartboards and document cameras. Now, we're a 1:1 school (i pads) and I'm seeing that become more and more popular. A lot of teachers are using things like google classroom constantly.

SageScience likes this.
  8. AmyMyNamey

AmyMyNamey Comrade

Jul 15, 2017