How many interviews before a job offer

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by buck8teacher, Jun 20, 2007.

1. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

Jun 20, 2007

Good evening! Like all of you, I am a highly qualified teacher applying for and searching for jobs like crazy! I was lucky enough to student teach at a great school (Southwest Ohio/Cincinnati area) and was lucky enough to do a long term sub from Feb. to the end of the year in the same building. Due to decreased enrollment however, I was not offered the position I was subbing for. I subbed for enough days to qualify for benefits under the teacher association's contract and I now have to be interviewed for any job I apply for within the district. It's a high in, which I'm very grateful for. The principal where I worked helped me draft my resume and cover letter, and both have been well reviewed.

I have interviewed for four positions, two in district and two out of district. I know that the market is VERY tight in my area and I should be grateful for my interviews but every phone call I get expresses that "you are a highly qualified, passionate professional..." but yet no job offer. I was just wondering how many interviews some of you went on before you recieved an offer? The principal where I subbed and student taught is even calling principals in district on my behalf for me when I post for jobs internally. Reading some of your posts have made me feel better, but I would just like some feedback on how many interviews some of you went on before being offered a job?

Thanks and keep trucking along!

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Jun 20, 2007

I graduated in May of 2005 and have had 13 interviews in public schools and one in a private school since then. I have not been offered any positions in the public schools, but did get the one in the private school, so I went on 14 interviews before my first offer. I'm searching once again in the public schools, though!

4. njeledteacher

njeledteacher Cohort

Jun 20, 2007