How do I put this on my resume?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Fortune Cookie, Dec 30, 2009.

1. Fortune Cookie

Fortune Cookie Rookie

Dec 30, 2009

I've been homeschooling for eight years. I've taught my kids to read, taught math up to and including algebra, taught foreign language. You name it, I've taught it.

I also have "real" teaching experience with much older students prior to this but it's not as relevant, in my opinion, to teaching elementary school as my actual hands on experience teaching young children.

My problem is I'm having a hard time identifying the individual skills that a principal would be interested in. For example, I have used various approaches and curricula to teach math. Should I list which ones? Or do I just leave it at "taught various math approaches"? What other skills/experience might be transferable and how can I list them?

3. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Jan 1, 2010

I would list the "actual" teaching experience you have on your resume - whether it's for the particular level your aiming for or not. I would list your homeschooling experience as a set of skills underneath a skills section on your resume. I think you should list the actual strategies/approaches - principals like to hear specifics and if they're unfamiliar with that strategy/approach, it'll be a great opportunity to show them that you like to share knowledge by explaining the strategy/approach to them!

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jan 2, 2010

Create a heading that says something like "skills and methods" and use that to describe your homeschooling experience. It should be seperate from employment and classroom experience, but it is important enough to include.

5. Fortune Cookie

Fortune Cookie Rookie

Jan 3, 2010

I ended up doing a "functional" resume and listed particular strengths on it without even mentioning the homeschooling at all.

Slowly but surely it's coming together!