How can I make math more interesting?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by robinsky, Sep 14, 2008.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Sep 14, 2008

I am a brand new teacher, and I did my student teaching in a very traditional high school where direct instruction was pretty much the order of the day. Now I'm teaching 7th grade, and my department chair thinks I need to make my lessons more interesting. I already feel like it's hard to cover all the topics I need to in our 45 minute long periods, by the time I get through the warmups and homework review, I really need to go over whatever lesson I need to teach them, and let them do some practice problems, and I don't even find time for that sometimes. I have tried playing games like Jeopardy, but those seem better suited for review than for new material. ANyb ody have any suggestions? Thanks!

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Sep 14, 2008

Do you need to go over the entire homework every class period? My teacher does this in 2nd grade and personally I find it a waste of time.

You can add spice to your warm ups.

I would offer more advice but I'm not sure it is appropriate for 7th grade.

I asked my own 7th grader what he does and what he likes. Here's the result of that conversation:

His current teacher gives examples and passes out worksheets. His favorite teacher ever was his 2nd grade teacher. He taught hands on math and was funny about it.

My college professor was a high school teacher. She had manipulatives and thinking games that applied to what they were doing. Her goal was to try to get the students to figure out solutions, in many different ways, for themselves before she teaches a formal lesson. I personally haven't figured out how she does this. She is awesome!

4. myangel52

myangel52 Comrade

Sep 14, 2008