Hope to become a Teacher one day!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by futureteacher13, Sep 20, 2014.

1. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

Sep 20, 2014

I've always wanted to become a teacher since I was very little! With that said, I received my BA degree three years ago as of yesterday. My degree is in Social Science with Education Concentration.
    I've been a paraprofessional for the past 5 years! I love every moment I get to spend with the awesome students I work with each day. They are amazing! By the way, I work with middle schoolers, which can be tough at times, but they are a joy to work with! My goal is to become an elementary school teacher, preferably teaching 4th or 5th graders! I've worked with students at both the elementary and middle school levels!
    I didn't have the opportunity to student teach because of my job and I completed my entire degree online through Ashford University. My goal is to one day work on getting a Master's degree in Elementary Education, which I know will be a very difficult thing to do while I'm teaching, but it can be done.
    I currently live in Florida. I would love to know from any elementary teachers if my experience as a paraprofessional benefit me greatly when I become a teacher one day. I know that teaching is very different from being a paraprofessional. I took my Florida Teacher Certification Exam in Elementary Education K-6 this past Summer and passed 3 out of 4 sections, with my having to retake the Science portion, which I'm planning on doing very soon. I also am planning on retaking the General Knowledge test and taking the Professional Education test as well. Once I pass the EE K-6 test, I will qualify for a Temporary Certificate to teach elementary school.