Homework Reading Log??

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by teacherlissa, Jul 19, 2011.

1. teacherlissa

teacherlissa Comrade

Jul 19, 2011

I would like to hold my 5th graders accountable for their reading at night. I have always had a reading log for my 3rd graders but now that I am a fifth grade teacher, I am looking for ideas to include or samples. Does anyone have anything?

3. AsherDasher

AsherDasher Companion

Jul 20, 2011

When I student taught, the teacher gave the students a blank calendar for the corresponding month. (It was copied back to back with the same month on the paper twice) One side was for math facts, and the other was for reading. The idea was for the students to keep track of their minutes and have their parents initial it on Friday and the students would bring it in weekly. This was great in theory but the students had a hard time remembering it weekly and I hate to say, so did I. It seemed with everything else going on, this log to make sure was initialed was not #1 priority. What was to say that the kid didnt just fill it out quickly too, ya know? ...I'm interested in others ideas though so that I can get something figured out for my class as well.

4. bryanmj

bryanmj Rookie

Jul 20, 2011

This is something I have struggled with as well. I send home a calendar but many don't come back and it becomes more of pain for me to track them down. I've thought about dropping it all together as the students who are going to read will do it without a calendar and those who don't are the ones who don't turn in the calendar. I do hand out a version of this information with my parent packet at the beginning of the year and go over it with my students. I'm not sure what my plan is....here's the link.

http://web.me.com/donna.glynn/Kinderglynn/Forms_for_Parents_files/Why%20Should%20Children%20Read%2020%20Minutes%20a%20Night%3F.pdf

5. Mr D

Mr D Comrade

Jul 21, 2011