Hitting a Rough Patch: Job Search

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by Emily Wisniewski, Aug 23, 2017.

1. Emily Wisniewski

Emily Wisniewski New Member

Aug 23, 2017

Hello everyone!

I live in southeastern PA and I graduated in May of 2015 with my degree in Secondary English. I knew that my area was competitive, but with school starting next week, it is really starting to take its toll that I have not gotten a teaching job yet. I was a long term sub for six months and last year, I was a building substitute for a great district.

Over the last few weeks, I was starting to feel defeated when it comes to the job search. Over the past 2 years, I have applied for close to 120 jobs and interviewed around 25 of those. I have sent my resume to a number of people to look at (including the hiring committee at my school) and I have gotten rave reviews with how I look on paper as well as practicing my interview skills. The staff is supportive and so are the high school kids I have been coaching over the last 7 years.

I know that I will be a good educator one day, I have always done well with teaching, but I find it hard to keep pushing through as a substitute when it isn't what I want to do. Then, I can add to my own pettiness a little bit when all of my friends were in the same boat as me, now have teaching jobs, so not only do I feel left out, I get to listen to them gush about their new classroom and what their first year is going to look like. And yes, I am so supportive of them, but when I go home, I just start to feel down about it because I just don't know what else I need to do to finally land a job.