Hiring woes

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Anonymous Barbie, Aug 3, 2017.

1. Anonymous Barbie

Anonymous Barbie Rookie

Aug 3, 2017

So, a quick background: I moved to a new state, subbed in a school district for a year, made a good reputation for myself as a good sub, and was approached by the dean of students and the principal and told to apply for an open position in my field. It's a rural school district, so positions in my field are few and far between, plus this school is 5 minutes away, vs the 35-40 for the other two school districts.

I applied, interviewed, and was told over the phone that I was not chosen for the position. I never really found out who got the position.

I mourned over it a lot. I have 3 years of experience, a Master's degree, and live 5 minutes away. And I was approached by the staff and told to apply. I was so confused as to what happened. Still, I resolved to stay as a sub, add a few more certification areas in the meantime, and just keep my eyes open for new openings.

So, to my surprise, I saw that the school was hiring in the subject area again. I applied quickly, and emailed the principal to tell him I applied, and thanked him for considering me for the position. He replied saying that I wouldn't be brought out for an interview, and that only new applicants would be interviewed.

I asked what the subjects were, and it sounds like they're the exact subjects for the last position. It sounds to me like something didn't work out with the applicant they chose, so they posted the opening again.

But wouldn't it follow that if they were really considering me, they would have just called me up and said "the position has come available, would you be interested?"