High School Auto Shop class

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by winter4me, Jan 11, 2006.

1. winter4me

winter4me Rookie

Jan 11, 2006

Hi everybody! My husband is considering taking a job as a high school auto shop teacher (which is ironic considering I am the one with an education degree). Has anyone had any experience with this kind of teaching? Would he have to do lesson plans like the kind I am familiar with (although he would be at a high school, my degree is in el. ed.). I know how time-consuming being a "regular" teacher is, but we are both wondering what this job might be like. Any advice or info would be great! He would be starting immediately, and have to decline another job for this one.

Thanks!:eek:

3. Malcolm

Malcolm Enthusiast

Jan 13, 2006

Well, if your husband likes working in an auto shop and teaching high school kids, it should be a great job. There will probably be some regular classroom work tied to some textbook. So, he will probably wind up doing the normal kind of lesson plans. As far as the shop part of the class, he'll probably have to do demonstrations. After that, some students will have projects they want to work on. He will have to point them in the right direction, help them out, teach them how to use tools and equipment, etc. He will probably have to come up with projects for students who don't have their own projects. He'll also spend time making sure the kids stay safe, equipment is used properly so it isn't damaged, keeping tools from walking off, etc. I suspect that he will spend more hours per week the first year than following years while he gets a system down and learns the ropes.

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jan 13, 2006

My sister took high school auto shop last year. I will ask her what there class consisted of. I am sure he will have to do some sort of lesson plan. The principal will want to know what has happened in the class.

5. MisterG

MisterG Comrade

Jan 13, 2006