Help!

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Walker4Life, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Walker4Life

Walker4Life New Member

Jul 31, 2007

Hi everyone! I am a brand new teacher who graduated with my masters this past May. I have lived in NY most of my life and just moved to Florida a few weeks ago and will be teaching 5th grade. I am really excited. However, my situation is a bit stressful. The school is not completely built yet. We won't be able to move into it until the end of December (hopefully!). In the meantime, we will be in portable classrooms. However, we can't even get into those yet. The curriculum is still on order, and the principal has no clue when it will come in. We have been advised on not bringing too much into the classroom at first because we will eventually be going into the new school. What can I do in the meantime when it comes to curriculum? What are the basics that I should put into my temporary classroom? Also....when I student taught, I taught in a primary school building and a middle/high school. Any suggestions on what a 5th grade classroom should look like/contain? If anyone can offer any advice, I would be forever greatful. Thanks!!:)

3. wig

wig Devotee

Jul 31, 2007

Check the Department of Education's sight for more specific objectives, but this may give you a start

http://elementarypgms.brevard.k12.fl.us/GLE's.htm

Type Pictures of fifth grade classrooms into a search engine. You will see some pictures of some great classrooms.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 31, 2007

Hi, Walker4Life. Welcome to AtoZ. Where in FL are you? I'm in a private school in West Palm Beach.

I've taught 5th for the last 6 years in a small classroom. I have a class library and lots of resources for research. That takes up one whole wall of shelving. I had only one activity table for projects; otherwise, we used their desks. I read aloud daily and kids sit/lie on a rug. I used to have pillows but have done away with them.