HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by carlalmiller, Apr 27, 2011.

1. carlalmiller

carlalmiller New Member

Apr 27, 2011

I am a first year teacher at a school where I must use basal readers. However, we're on our last story this week! My students hae really exceeded my expectations and I haven't had to spend more than one week on more than two stories all year.
    Now, I have no idea what to do for reading. Can anyone help me?? How do you structure your reading programs without a basal reader?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 27, 2011

You could read a class novel together (try a Magic Tree House story).

You could have the students read silently or in groups with you meeting with smaller groups. Maybe guided reading....

4. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Apr 27, 2011

I only use trade books...no basel.
    Read a novel or begin a series (Cam Jansen, Junie B, BoxCar Children, Magic Treehouse, Charlotte's Web)

5. Srohl

Srohl Rookie

Apr 27, 2011

What about....

Doing readers theater?
    A poetry unit?
    Have students Vote on their favorite author and do a week of books by that author?
    Independent reading and a project to present to their classmates?
    A research report?
    A play?

6. queenie

queenie Groupie

Apr 27, 2011

We use storybooks as mentor texts. For example, we find a book with a particular characteristic of effective writing, we read it, discuss it, etc. Then, the kid use the mentor text as a model for creating their own work. Often, we create a class book!

We have done "Gorilla on a Bus" (used Duck on a Bike as a model); "The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Picture Day;", etc.

7. TeacherApr

TeacherApr Groupie

Apr 27, 2011