Help with "Why did you leave your last position?" Question

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by tash815, Jan 9, 2018.

1. tash815

tash815 New Member

Jan 9, 2018

I am a special education teacher. I worked at a middle school in my home state for 4 years straight, and then back in August, I moved to another state for a better teaching salary. I was very excited for this move and the new elementary school. Everyone seemed really nice, and the principal seemed really caring. Once school started though, it became very difficult. I ended up resigning last week. The principal was a complete micro-manager and she had very unclear expectations. I swear, she would contradict herself in the same sentence. She yelled at another SpEd teacher for saying "I propose we do...." instead of "We propose..." at an IEP meeting. We had to talk to her and have meetings every time we wanted to do anything. There would be a reading program the SpEd department was willing to buy for me, and we had to clear it with her first. It was a very stressful work environment. I'm not the only one who felt this way. Many of the other teachers were just as stressed out with these conditions. One teacher was actually throwing up in the mornings before work, and sometimes, even when when she got to work. A lot of anxiety was going around, and it just was not healthy.

I am planning to look for a different teaching position in another district, so, I am wondering if there is any advice about the best answer to give if I get asked about why I left?

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Connoisseur

Jan 9, 2018