HELP, Students are hitting on me!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by BarbieTeacher, Feb 15, 2007.

1. BarbieTeacher

BarbieTeacher New Member

Feb 15, 2007

I am a new fifth grade teacher at a K-8 school and I have an embarrassing problem-- the middle school aged boys keep hitting on me. I will walk by a group of them in the hall and one of them will whistle, cat call, or make a semi-obsecene comment at me! I don't really know how to react because I rarely know which boy is guilty. When things like that happen outside of school I either play deaf, or sometimes answer with an equally obscene comment. However, as a teacher, I am at a loss. I know that I am young (easily the youngest teacher at the school) so I always dress very professionally and am so careful about how I present myself.

My questions is, how do I respond to this in a way that will end all of this and cause them to respect me as a teacher?

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Feb 15, 2007

Next time it happens take the kid directly to the principal.... it's inexcusable behavior. Nip it in the bud.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Feb 15, 2007

You can't ignore it. If you don't know who the student is, turn to the group and give them all a stern warning that doesn't leave any doubt in their minds that you don't welcome the inappropriate comments.

5. Mrs_Goatess

Mrs_Goatess Comrade

Feb 15, 2007