**HELP new TO AtoZ and NEW 5th grade teacher**

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by missanna, Jul 28, 2006.

1. missanna

missanna Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

Hello Everyone!!

I always read the forum but now I finally decided to join because it looks extremelly helpful!! I got hired about a month ago as a 5th grade teacher! I am excited but soooo overwhelmed. I was wondering if anyone can recommend any good first day of school activities and a good short read aloud ..

Thanks so much!!

3. MissMulcahy

MissMulcahy Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

new fifth grade teacher too!

Hi! I read your post and want you to know I am in the smae boat. This is my first year teaching. I am so nervous but excited. Where are you from?

4. missanna

missanna Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

Hey,
    Are you really?! I am from northern NJ..what about you? what grade did you do your student teaching in??

5. missanna

missanna Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

Hopefully we can get some tips and advice on here :) Did you begin to do anything yet??

6. superteach113

superteach113 Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

5th Graders

I taught fifth graders for four years. Fifth graders are so cool and are so much fun. They are old enough to do some really nice projects, but still young enough to be scared of their parents and think you are just the smartest person alive!! Just make sure they understand your class rules. They HATE missing recess. They are very social, so that is a good consequence for misbehaviors.

I am now teaching 1st graders and really miss the fifth grade age.

Just ask any questions, we will be happy to help!:)

7. missanna

missanna Rookie

Jul 28, 2006

Thanks so much for getting back! I did my student teaching in 4th grade and I enjoyed it so I am hoping for the same experience in 5th grade. What kind of discipline plan did you implement..as far as consenquences for misbehavior etc. Also, how did you start off a new year?

8. superteach113

superteach113 Rookie

Jul 29, 2006

Fifth Grade