Help: New Teacher with family problems who needs to leave her job

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sarahmw2007, Aug 12, 2017 at 9:51 AM.

1. sarahmw2007

sarahmw2007 New Member

Aug 12, 2017 at 9:51 AM

Hi everyone. To make a long story short, I am a first year teacher who was hired to teach at a middle school who had lost 1/3 of their teaching staff this past year about a half hour from home. When I first accepted the position I was thrilled and excited (I am a MAT program student with a year to go in her program who was originally an accountant/banking person). In the last 2 weeks some family issues have arisen that are of a personal matter (1 illness, 1 work injury with surgery, 1 mental health situation). I have been hoping that these issues would improve , but it's looking like they aren't going anywhere any time soon. Can I ask for my release?
    I have not signed or even seen my contract yet, though I know one exists at the BOE for me. I can stick around for a few weeks until they find a replacement for me since it is the very beginning of the year and I don't want to leave them in any more of a lurch than I already know I will be.
    Does anyone have any advice for me in this situation? Has anyone had a similar situation arise? Hypothetically if I had signed a contract (which I have not) what could they do if it is a family emergency/medical emergency situation that requires me to break my agreement?) I feel terrible, but family needs me now, and they will always come first.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 10:59 AM
  3. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Aug 12, 2017 at 10:42 AM