Help! Kindergarten Behavior Management

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by missd123, Sep 18, 2010.

1. missd123

missd123 New Member

Sep 18, 2010

I am totally overwhelmed with my kindergarten class! This is my first year teaching in an elementary school. I taught in a 3 year old class for a year before this.
    I have never experienced such a hard time teaching as my first day teaching Kindergarten. I've only taught for 2 days now, and it seems impossible to get them to all listen at the same time. Any attention getters I've been trying to use (hitting a gong, using a rain stick, clapping patterns that they should follow, singing certain songs, etc.) don't work, or work only the first time I try them. If they pay attention for two seconds, they then go back to doing what they were doing before. Many kids listen, but at least half are off in their own worlds, playing or chatting with their friends while I'm talking.
    I also have two kids who are in need of extra help, one in particular who at times has violent temper tantrums and runs away.
    The positive side is that I have another teacher in the classroom with me, so we have each other for extra help, but even then, if she's focusing on helping one student pay attention, and I'm trying to do instruction, the rest of them are all over the place!
    I'm at a total loss! Any advice is very much appreciated, but the school I'm in is a very progressive school, so behavior management plans like cards, tickets, sticker charts, etc. are out of the question.

3. SophieLou

SophieLou Rookie

Sep 18, 2010