Help! I'm burned out and I don't know if I can make it through the rest of year.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by BurnedOutTeacher, May 3, 2017.

1. BurnedOutTeacher

BurnedOutTeacher Rookie

May 3, 2017

So this is my situation. I am a second year teacher teaching middle school history coaching middle school football. I have tried and tried to stay at this school and finish the year out, but stuff keeps piling up. I have taken middle school math praxis and am taking the algebra 1 praxis. I live quite a ways away from the school and the commute on top of expectations is killing me. I am trying to find a job closer to home, but haven't had any big bites.
    All the job responsibilities are wearing me down, and doing good just to get by. Everybody knows I am miserable, and I have had countless people come up to me and say that they are worried about me.
    Yesterday, I cried the whole way home(long time) praying to god to put me somewhere else. I don't feel comfortable talking to my principal or vice principal about it because I don't trust them. They told me that I may not have a coaching position next year.
    How do I finish out the year?

3. Committed2DaProfession

Committed2DaProfession Rookie

May 3, 2017

I am in a similar situation. The key is to purge any and all negativity from your thinking and take it ONE DAY AT A TIME. Trust me. This works.

4. BurnedOutTeacher

BurnedOutTeacher Rookie

May 3, 2017

That is a hard thing to do.. to get rid of negativity. Especially when I am surrounded by it. The other teachers on my hallway are always bitching.

5. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

May 3, 2017