Help! First Whole Class Novel Study

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by time out, Feb 21, 2013.

1. time out

time out Comrade

Feb 21, 2013

So this is my first year teaching third grade. One of my colleagues told me that many teachers conduct novel studies after the FCAT. I thought this was a great idea and she even loaned me a class set of books - Frindle! - which I completely adore, by the way.

I'm a bit unsure of how to approach this novel study. I know that most whole class novel studies consist of vocabulary, comprehension and journaling. I wonder if this is the right approach. How do I keep the students accountable for their reading without making it tedious? I need to find the right balance.

I read an article that stated that students should genuinely be interested and excited about reading the book. I then read another article that presented an interesting point of view. For the majority of students, they will be reading the selected book for the very first time so they will be reading it with the mindset of What's going to happen next?, whereas, teachers will be looking for deeper interactions with the text because it will be a repeated reading for us.

That same article stated that most of the questions that teachers ask during a novel study do not inspire a real discussion of the text. It's more of a contrived discussion.

What innovative ways have you conducted novel studies in your classroom? Would love to hear about them! Thanks :)

3. cateste

cateste Companion

Mar 27, 2013

4. oFutureTeachero

oFutureTeachero Rookie

Mar 28, 2013