Hello 6th grade teachers!

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by Mrs.Gould, Jul 24, 2007.

1. Mrs.Gould

Mrs.Gould Comrade

Jul 24, 2007

It's neat that we now have our "own" board! :) I've seen a few 6th grade teachers on the board, but now it's time to let everyone know you're here!

How long have you taught 6th grade?
    Are you self-contained or departmentalized?
    What subject/subjects do you teach?

I'll start:p

I taught 6th grade English in a departmentalized setting two years ago for a year. I had 5 classes and LOVED everyone of them. I could easily say this was my dream job. Unfortunately enrollment declined and I was let go. Luckily I was hired in June by another district, again, for 6th grade. This school is more self-contained. I will be teaching an ELA block (90 min), math (55 min), and two science classes (40 min each). I'm really excited to get started in September!

3. newkteacher

newkteacher Rookie

Jul 24, 2007

Hi,

I am brand new to the 6th grade, former k teacher. I will be teaching 3 different classes for language arts for a 90 minute block each.

4. Mrs.Gould

Mrs.Gould Comrade

Jul 24, 2007

I would LOVE to teach only ELA, but I'm excited about trying out science too! Good luck this year. I think you'll really enjoy 6th grade! I did a LTS in Kindergarten before I hired for 6th so I know what a big leap it is.

5. newkteacher

newkteacher Rookie

Jul 24, 2007

Mrs. G, I am so exicted. Reading and writing are 2 of my passions, I hope this transcends to the students a little bit.:)

6. Mrs.Gould

Mrs.Gould Comrade

Jul 24, 2007

Same with me! I was actually asked that question in an interview once, "How will you use your love of reading to inspire students?"

7. tiredteacher29

tiredteacher29 Rookie

Jul 24, 2007