Health/PE Endorsement Question

Discussion in 'Special Subjects' started by Tripp, Sep 10, 2018.

1. Tripp

Tripp New Member

Sep 10, 2018

Hello!

I have some random questions and I can't seem to find the answers on my own. I am wanting to pursue a career as a teacher, with my specialization in Health/PE. I have been a Paramedic for years, and I currently work in Emergency Management (Disaster Preparedness) for a local city in my area. I routinely go out to the middle and high schools to do disaster preparedness presentations. I love teaching and am set on pursuing this as a career.

I have my undergrad in Emergency Management and I currently live in Washington State. One of my first questions is, can anyone here recommend a quality, yet affordable, master's program that I can do online that would grant me the right endorsements to teach? I can't seem to find anything, but I imagine there has to be some programs out there! Anyone who can chime in, I appreciate and welcome any advice!

Also-- any teachers currently teaching in Washington State that has any general advice or suggestions for me? A friend who teaches in another state suggested I get my Master's in something else, and eventually work on my endorsement in Health/PE afterwards, though I still am quite unsure how this works!

Thanks for any help :)

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Sep 11, 2018

Not in Washington State, but another angle that might be interesting would be Career Technology Education (CTE). With your background, you'd be a shoo-in for that.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 11, 2018

Welcome to A to Z, Tripp!

Start with https://www.pesb.wa.gov/workforce-d...tification/find-an-alternative-route-program/. Alternative route programs generally are intended for career changers - that is, folks like you. I'm fairly certain you don't need a master's to begin teaching in Washington state, by the way.