Has anyone taken a CSET Multiple Subject Prep Class?

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by ilikedesserts328, Jul 13, 2018.

1. ilikedesserts328

ilikedesserts328 Rookie

Jul 13, 2018

Did anyone take a CSET Multiple Subject prep class for all the subtests? If so, was it helpful? I graduated with my BA in liberal studies and none of my undergraduate work prepared me for the CSET. I already have my Cliffnotes book and I'm still learning the English part of subtest I. It's been a few weeks now. I really want to pass the CSET before February so that I can apply for the credential program since it's a requirement. I feel like I'm falling behind.

3. kainca

kainca New Member

Aug 13, 2018

Hi, I used the online version of Teachers Test Prep (they have a discount code on Facebook) for each of the three Multiple Subjects CSET and the Cliffnotes book to study for each exam. I also looked up concepts that were more difficult for me to remember (or learn) on YouTube (Crash Course was my favorite for science) and used Khan Academy to practice math (especially geometry). There were also several good videos on teaching reading and spelling (just do a general search).

I had enough time to study over 8 months total (preparing for each subtest individually - about about 2 hours each day) and passed each exam on my first try. My weakest subject was Math and Science so I gave myself more time to study before taking the exam. I will say that I took about 50 pages of notes out of the book and the same off of the test prep website and then studied my notes and watched the video lectures at least twice for each subject. I took all of the practice exams and studied the answers (in the Cliffnotes book you have to read the answers to all of the practice exams or you'll miss most of the information).

Reflecting on the test questions, I have to say that I would not have had enough information if I had only used Cliffnotes (or only the test prep website) to study.