Hard Lockdows

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Caesar753, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 31, 2017

As a teacher, I know that hard lockdown drills are important to do. Kids are better at doing what they need to do when they have a chance to practice.

As a parent of a preschooler, I hate these drills. My kid's school had one today and my kid was terrified, like sobbing and scared, even after it was over. When the nanny arrived at pick-up, my kid was still crying and basically ran to the nanny's car asking (crying) if something bad was going to happen while they were outside. Hearing this makes my heart break. :(

I'm not really asking a question or anything. Just sharing, I suppose.

3. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Companion

Aug 31, 2017

Do they explain to the kids that it is just a drill, and the purpose of the drill? I would think that to be important.

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 31, 2017

I'm sure that they do. The teachers in my kid's program are excellent. But my kid is 3.

5. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Habitué

Aug 31, 2017

I work with 3- to 5-year-olds and we always explain it to them in a way they can understand. It's nothing new in the area we live in though. We have real lockdowns instead of drills. One day last year, we had a hard lockdown that lasted over an hour. We were stuffed/locked in the bathroom of our classroom. We have soft lockdowns more than hard lockdowns so the kids don't even notice most of the time. It's a sad world we live in. When I was a kid, we only had tornado drills & fire drills . Now we have tornado, fire, earthquake, soft lockdown, & hard lockdown.

6. creativemonster

creativemonster Comrade

Aug 31, 2017