Guided Reading Advice (semi-long)

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by storyh, Sep 14, 2008.

1. storyh

storyh Companion

Sep 14, 2008

I am sure there are probably some related threads on here about this, but I didn't really find what I was looking for, so I decided to post new. Anyway, I am teaching second grade this year, and at least 1/2 of my class cannot read on grade level. I am wanting to do guided reading groups, but as of right now as a grade level we have decided to do traditional whole group reading from the basal. I just feel like I am doing my kids a dis-service by making them read on a second grade level if they don't have the foundation to be sucessful. I have pretty much decided that I am going to squeeze in reading groups as well as continuing with the other. I need tips and advice on how to make it work. Thanks!

3. tchnzfun

tchnzfun Rookie

Sep 14, 2008

This is my first year teaching second grade, as well, so I can't promise to give you the greatest advice, but I'll try my best. I am doing guided reading groups for one hour every day. I plan to meet with my high group one time per week, with my average students in two different group three times per week, and with my two low groups four times per week. The students are working in literacy stations when they don't meet with me. These groups are independent of the reading groups. Literacy stations have 3-4 students in them and at any given time may have only two students in, if I am working with the others.

With all of my groups I am using leveled readers. With my high group we may move into some chapter books in the next month. With my three lowest groups, we will be doing six minute solutions 1-2 times per week to work on reading fluency. This is a great program to look into if you are interested. Students can monitor individual progress and really see their reading improve.