Good graphing project ideas?

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by FirstYear, Sep 13, 2007.

1. FirstYear

FirstYear Rookie

Sep 13, 2007

I am a first year teacher and am teaching 5th grade. We are working on graphing right now and I want them to get to do a creative, hands-on project that will span sometime. We've done graph making within the classroom, but it gets boring surveying your own class. I had the kids pick from 3 different questions and make a graph with the class as their survey subjects.

I would love any ideas you may have. Thanks!

3. jacksprat379

jacksprat379 Rookie

Sep 14, 2007

Could they do something with their families? For example, as a class they can graph their favorite subject in school. Then each child can go home & ask their parents/guardians what their favorite subject was in school. Then they could compare the 2 graphs? Maybe they could cut out pictures of kids & adults from old magazines or newspapers to be the "bars" on the graphs? Just to throw in some hands-on.

To span time, they could do graphs of the type of food they had for supper/dinner over the course of a week.

4. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Sep 14, 2007

We have made large line graphs of the morning temp over two weeks, classroom attendance, and how many students turned in homework over two weeks.

5. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Sep 14, 2007