Giving Up on Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by WarriorPrncss, May 4, 2017.

1. WarriorPrncss

WarriorPrncss Companion

May 4, 2017

So... Last year I was an intern teacher and was "let go" because I wasn't a good fit for the school. (In reality it was a small charter school with high social standards and a clique I didn't fit in to. I hated it there and was half glad to have to leave.)

This year I am teaching on a short term staff permit due to not having passed the RICA. I LOVE my school, my co-workers and wouldn't leave for anything--- except that I've failed the RICA 2x by 3pts and was non-renewed because I failed to hold up my end on the renewal agreement which was to pass by March 15th.

I took the RICA again last night. It was a nightmare. The hardest test, by far, and the case study was the one area I couldn't come up with 2 solid instructional strategies. If I passed it'd be a miracle.

Anyhow... by not passing last night I've lost the window to get a job for next year since I won't be able to take the RICA and get result before next school year.

So... I can't teach next year. I'm lost. What do I do?

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 4, 2017

What grade level / subject are can you teach with or without the RICA? What credential do you have?

4. WarriorPrncss

WarriorPrncss Companion

May 4, 2017

I cannot get my credential without the RICA, that's the problem. I'm currently teaching on a short term or "emergency" permit. But, it's only good for a year.

5. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Aficionado

May 4, 2017

Which study guides are you using? Also, how much actual studying are you doing? Passing the RICA needs to be your top priority right now; remember that it's your ticket to becoming fully credentialed and getting a job!

yellowdaisies likes this.
  6. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 4, 2017