Getting a class' attention

Discussion in 'High School' started by ograwk, Dec 10, 2012.

1. ograwk

ograwk Rookie

Dec 10, 2012

This is my first year teaching high school - I have taught elementary school for the past 17 years. My question is, what are some good methods for getting the class' attention? In elementary school, we clapped, chanted, counted - I had lots of tricks, but I don't think they are appropriate for high school. I have large classes - some at 41, my smallest is 38, so I need some way to get their attention quickly that will not seem juvenile to them, and that won't require me to have to shout above them. I've been using the "class, yes" method from Whole Brain Teaching, which works for some periods, but others it doesn't. Any advice?

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Aficionado

Dec 10, 2012

flicker the lights?

4. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Fanatic

Dec 10, 2012

I usually say, "Everyone stop what you're doing. Please put your eyes on me." I'd say it works 98% of the time, even with my class of 45.

5. vivalavida

vivalavida Companion

Dec 10, 2012

I'm interested in responses as well. The teacher I worked with for my practicum wasn't extremely strict when it came to having students' attention, so when I did anything with the class as a whole, they continued to talk over me as they did for her! Ugh! I'm definitely curious to hear your tips/tricks!

6. MissApple

MissApple Companion

Dec 13, 2012

I honestly would try some of the stuff you use with younger grades. Even if it sounds babyish, the older kids get a kick out of it. If I know what their elementary teacher may have used (peace and quiet was a big one in my area) I'll use that because they instantly recognize it and think it's fun to act like a little kid again.

I don't use that all the time though. In my school we raise a hand silently and all of the kids are expected to quiet down and raise their hand. They need a lot of practice though.

7. HeartDrama

HeartDrama Connoisseur