Geography in Schools

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeachTN, Mar 12, 2013.

1. TeachTN

TeachTN Comrade

Mar 12, 2013

Does your district still offer a stand-alone course in Geography? Is your state or district considering getting rid of Geography as a stand-alone course? Right now TN has Geography on its own, but is moving towards teaching it within History classes. I'm definitely against this, I mean, how do you teach Geography in an early Western Civilization course when the maps are COMPLETELY different? It would be pertinent to U.S. History classes, but there is already so much content to learn already.

I'm studying this topic for a proposal in one of my grad courses, since I am very passionate about it, and just wonder if this is going on elsewhere.

BTW, this video alone is why we need to teach geography in school: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cey35bBWXls

3. MikeTeachesMath

MikeTeachesMath Devotee

Mar 12, 2013

4. Shanoo

Shanoo Habitué

Mar 12, 2013

We still teach Geography. In fact, for graduation, our students need to take one Grade 12 "World" course - Geo, History, etc.

For us, though, it's not just teaching maps. Our students learn about water systems, how slave labour is used for the production of certain commodities (like chocolate), child soldiering, and the North/South divide among many, many other things. My SO teaches Grade 12 Geo and he always begins his course by being clear that if they are expecting to only have to memorize maps, they're in for a rude awakening.

5. platypusok

platypusok Companion

Mar 12, 2013

Our social studies standards were rewritten last year.

6th grade--Western Hemisphere geography

7th grade--Eastern Hemisphere geography (this used to be the year that geography was taught). This is a test subject.

High school--World Geography.

6. KateL

KateL Habitué

Mar 12, 2013

In California, 9th graders take geography, 10th graders take world history, and 11th graders take US history.

7. Emily Bronte