"Genius club" in the classroom?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by aya, Jul 26, 2007.

1. aya

aya Rookie

Jul 26, 2007

I am a computer teacher k-5 and our school is finally putting 3 computers in each classroom in addition to our mobile labs and hardwired lab. Some of our teachers requested NOT to have computers in their rooms at all because they are so uncomfortable with them. Even though some don't want them, everyone is getting them. I am hoping to encourage teachers to use the computers often (they are new imacs!) I can't imagine just letting them sit and take up space. To encourage the teachers to use the computers I created a new blog www.ilearntechnology.com and updated my homepage http://tenkely.org and created a teacher page http://tenkely.org/teachers. I think that the main reason for resistance is not knowing what to do with them and more importantly, they aren't comfortable with them, so they don't want the added frustration. I have the kids once a week for computer lab time. I am considering starting a "Genius club" for students who are interested. I would give them special trouble shooting training for the computers and be sure they are very familiar with all programs loaded on the class computers. My thought is that this would give teachers immediate support in their classrooms for computer help taking some of the pressure off of them. What do you think of this idea, is there anything like this in place at your school, how does it work? I would love your :2cents:

3. ChangeAgent

ChangeAgent Comrade

Jul 26, 2007

My initial response as I read was that I didn't like the title of "genius club." That said, the idea itself sounds very good. Your multiple venues of presenting information (the websites) are a great idea. The fact that each class WILL have computers also helps integrating technology. Perhaps you could work with your administration and offer an in-service on the computer programs/usages?