FTCE K-6 Exam

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Einstein223, Dec 9, 2014.

1. Einstein223

Einstein223 Rookie

Dec 9, 2014

Hello! I am studying for the FTCE K-6 exam and having a difficult time since they changed it in May of this year and there are no current study guides. I know how the test has changed and what the new competencies are but having a hard time finding resources to study. Any help or recommendations are greatly appreciated!!!

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 9, 2014

Which competencies have you most concerned?

4. teach2014

teach2014 Rookie

Dec 10, 2014

Took it October this year and passed firs time. I utilized Cliff Notes. I thought it was rather tough but Cliff Notes helped with formatting. The test was more about applying the information i.e. math, where the student went wrong in their computation as opposed to merely knowing how to compute.

5. Einstein223

Einstein223 Rookie

Dec 10, 2014

TeacherGroupie- Honestly all of them, I just don't feel very prepared because this is not what my primary training is in. The field I am qualified to teach is either not offered or there are no jobs available so I am having to change subject areas rather quickly and without the proper training that I would be more comfortable with. I had hoped I would be ok using study guides until I can get back in school but since there aren't any current ones, I feel even more under prepared!!

teach2014- I am using Cliff Notes as well, even though it is the older version. Congratulations on passing. Hopefully it will help me as well. Thanks for the info!!

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 10, 2014

Einstein223, hugs. If you give me some idea what content has you concerned, I can probably offer some guidance that will help.