From 1st to 5th- feeling like a lost puppy!

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by ShanaNicole, May 25, 2013.

1. ShanaNicole

ShanaNicole Rookie

May 25, 2013

Hello there! So I have been teaching 1st grade for 3 years (since I started teaching. Though it's been great, it hasn't been what I wanted. I did my student teaching in 5th grade and fell in love with it. Well, I got the best news from my principal who said I get to be in 5th grade next year! Woohoo! So excited, but now I'm slightly scared. They're going from departmentalized to self contained, which is another big deal.

So here's my question-

What are the major skills or standards that are taught in fifth grade? I've looked at all of the CCSS and old standards for Florida, but it's so overwhelming. I'm just looking for a quick summary of the skills for math, reading, writing, science and social studies. I'm going from teaching basic addition to so much more.

Thanks in advance!

3. knitter63

knitter63 Groupie

May 25, 2013

I have taught 5th grade for 10 years of my 19 years. I also love 5th grade!
    Basic skills in math include: double digit multiplication and division; fractions: equivalent,adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing, simplifying; area of triangles and parallelograms, drawing angles, surface area; decimals and percents
    Reading: more "close" reading and understanding of story elements, first/third person, cause/effect, theme, etc.
    Writing: narrative, persuasive and expository writing
    Science: this will depend on your state. In Ohio, our life science is food chains/webs, photosynthesis, biomes. Energy, electricity, sound and light cover physical science, and earth's resources and stars cover space science.
    Social St.: again, it will depend on your state. In Ohio-federal government, history from Native Americans to Civil war, economics, and regions.
    Hope this helps. I am sure you will do great!

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

May 25, 2013