First year 2nd grade teacher

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by teachergirl2481, Dec 16, 2012.

1. teachergirl2481

teachergirl2481 New Member

Dec 16, 2012

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new here. I just landed a job teaching second grade in a rough area. I am a first year teacher. I observed the class for a few days. There has been a sub in the class since school started. To put everything very nicely the class was a complete mess. The sub had no idea how to handle a class. They played all day did no work the sub screamed when they got to loud, let them continue to play and do what they wanted but continued to scream at them. (bipolar I think) When I was in the room and tried to teach some things the sub told me to I had their attention. This sub would leave me in the class with them and they were controllable. But the moment he/she would return so would the behavior issues and noise.
    The sub had no idea what lesson they were on nor could tell me where I should pick up on in teaching. What was told to me was completely wrong because I found out he/she was told specifically not to do that unit or tell me to do it. Now I have this class who is out of control because that has been engrained in them since September, have never had a complete lesson taught in any subject, a classroom which was a storage room for all the grades so I have everything in there this sub cleaned nothing.
    I haven't even officially started my first day which is this week before Christmas break and I am already overwhelmed. If anyone has suggestions for behavior modifications or can help me in trying figure this mess out I would appreciate it greatly. :help::(

3. PinkCupcake

PinkCupcake Cohort

Dec 16, 2012