First Time Subbing! Help!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ehd0222, May 18, 2012.

1. ehd0222

ehd0222 Rookie

May 18, 2012

Ok, so here is a little of my backround...

I graduated in December with my BA in Psychology and in March I started an alternative teaching program to get my Teacher Certification. I also just recently went through a substitute orientation in the district I live in and two subbing jobs, both for first grade, have come available for Monday and Tuesday of next week.

I have no real experience in the classroom and I am terrified to accept either of these assignments. Can I get some feedback of how others have dealt with their first time in the classroom subbing? I don't know why I have such a fear about it, but I do.

Thanks!

3. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

May 18, 2012

It is scary. I remember when I started subbing. The first night I could not sleep at all. I was terrified. The only way to get over your fear is to get into the classroom and do it. The first graders will love you because they love everyone (normally). Just make sure you enforce the classroom rules and you will be fine. The only way to do it is to just go ahead and do it. Good luck and tell us how it goes.

DaniB92 likes this.
  4. ehd0222

ehd0222 Rookie

May 18, 2012

Thank you Tami! I know I just need to do it, but it seems so daunting to accept the assignment right now. I just keep staring at it and panicking!

My fear is that the teacher won't leave a detailed enough lesson plan and also I don't really know how to transition from one subject to the next...

DaniB92 likes this.
  5. ehd0222

ehd0222 Rookie

May 19, 2012

What should I bring with me when subbing?

6. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

May 19, 2012

Learn a few easy games for elementary (like playing Sparkle with spelling words). This could help fill time if necessary.