First grade projects?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by hockey1021, Jun 6, 2008.

1. hockey1021

hockey1021 Rookie

Jun 6, 2008

What kind of projects do you give first graders - any subject?
    This is my first year teaching and I am trying to get an idea of homework and projects we can do throughout the year.

Any suggestions will help. THANK YOU!!

3. Pooh42

Pooh42 Companion

Jun 7, 2008

Congratulations and welcome to first grade!

I usually have the students do an "All About Me" Time-line to plot their growth from infancy to now

Community Project-they create a poster board/display board of their neighborhood

Careers-What I Want to be When I grow Up (didn't do this one yet-will do it this year)

100th Day Project

When I taught 2nd Grade-research project on a famous African American

hope this gets you started

Have Fun-teaching is a wonderful job!!!!:up:

4. MrsPatten

MrsPatten Comrade

Jun 8, 2008

We did a recycling project where the had to make something from things they would have thrown away--lots of milk carton bird feeders. lol

5. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Jun 11, 2008

We always do a diorama for a book report. When I assign projects, I try to give them 2 weeks to complete them, or at least 2 weekends. That way if parents have to help, there is plenty of time.

In the past we have done dioramas for habitat - they created a habitat of their choice in the shoebox. Be sure you give clear directions of what you want.

For book reports, you can do a search online for ideas. They usually do this in the spring. I have them present their diorama to the class and give an oral report. They love it!

You might get some ideas from Steve Spangler's website. First graders generally LOVE projects.

6. cheer

cheer Comrade

Jun 23, 2008

We do September- family quilt- (from oriental trading)What you and your famiily like to do together introduction. I sometimes a do an all about me bag.
    October-Draw a map of your room