Feeling lost... Ready to leave this profession, but what's next?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by givemeten, Jan 10, 2016.

1. givemeten

givemeten New Member

Jan 10, 2016

I am a male primary teacher in Canada. This is my eighth year of teaching, six of which were in special education and two in Grade 1. I am so ready to leave teaching, to be honest, and have been thinking about it for the last several years.

I feel so drained mentally and physically every day, and am at the point where I am dragging myself to work every morning. I have no energy to do anything after work or on weekends, and spend my entire weekend recovering from extreme fatigue and prepping for the upcoming week. I am hating the fact that I always need to take work home, and am never able to enjoy after work hours or weekends without thinking about or dealing with work related stuff. I have seen doctors, and all the test results come back OK. However, they notice that I am under a lot of stress, and have suggested to consider leaving this profession as my stress level being so high.

I am not good with playing games or dealing with politics, unfortunately. I had a horrible work environment where an admin and co-workers basically "bullied" me for the entire year in the past. I am now transferred to another school, but am just overwhelmed with student's behaviours. It is exhausting. There is no such place as a perfect workplace, and I am well aware of that. Regardless of which school or which class I teach, I am sure that there is something which probably bugs me. Everybody deals with these challenges in life, but I am just fed up. I know this shows me how weak (or even perhaps immature) I am, but am just at the wits' end now.