Extremely Difficult Student

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 5thyrteach, Feb 11, 2018.

1. 5thyrteach

5thyrteach New Member

Feb 11, 2018

Hello!
    I'm a 1st grade teacher who has been teaching for a little bit : ) I have an extremely difficult student this year and I would love some strategies/interventions on how to help him. His Dad passed away in September and I feel like that is where a lot of his angry/attention seeking behavior stems from. He is disrespectful to me and his peers. He pushes them for no reason, he "plows" over them to get attention/reactions, he constantly name calls, takes other students stuff and like plays keep away with it. Will mock me, uses offensive language, the list goes on. The school counselor talks with him on a regular basis and he admits to everything he does and knows its "bad" but nothing changes. He is on a behavior plan and can earn rewards for following goals but that really has no effect on him. Mom doesn't deny his behavior (I write notes his behavior planner daily about everything) but if he does something extremely bad and I call her (like the other day when he called another student a highly offensive, hateful term she just says "ok, I'm working with him). My AP is aware of him as well, but if I send him to my AP he just gets talked to and nothing happens (another student's Mom actually complained to administration about this student constantly pushing and hurting her son and my AP had maybe a 5 min talk with this student and that was it!) I'm honestly drained and it hurts me to see my other students have to deal with him all day and his pushing, name calling, etc. I will send him to other classrooms and he comes back and is calm for like 5-10 mins and then we go straight back to our usual ways.

Thank you!

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Feb 11, 2018