Extra Income

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by ECE ABC, Oct 22, 2014.

1. ECE ABC

ECE ABC Comrade

Oct 22, 2014

Just wondering who here takes on extra jobs for extra income?

I am officially back to tutoring this week. I have one student i see 2 mornings a week (for an hour) before school starts and i am only charging $20 an hour so her mom jumped at it:D

I also do product studies for a local Research Company. I have been doing this for 2 years now. I am currently in a study this month for laundry detergent..comparing brands..it'll be an extra $140.00 when I complete the study, the weekly diaries and the online comparison surveys at the end of the month!

Some months I can make hundreds of dollars on the studies, but then in the months when the studies pay less, the tutoring will really help out since its weekly.

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Oct 22, 2014

I worked retail while I was still subbing, up until I got my first long-term position (made Black Friday my last day :lol:), and also occasionally tutored, and helped with the Measures of Effective Teaching study that the Gates Foundation did. Now my only "extra" is something I've been doing for the past 7-8 years - writing math competition tests for a large state competition. I used to compete in it as a kid, and so writing the questions that the kids get to have fun figuring out is beyond rewarding (shh, I'd almost do it for free...ha!)

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 22, 2014

I tutor 7 hours a week at $65-70 per hour.

I also do after school dismissal duty which adds up to about $250 per month.

5. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Oct 22, 2014

I've PM'd you! :)

6. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Oct 22, 2014

I took an intern this year, and I was accepted into the superintendent's leadership cadre. Those two are an extra couple of thousand.

I have done medical research, too. I'm too busy to do it right now. It's usually a summer project.

7. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Oct 22, 2014