Elementary vs. Middle School

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by TXforever, Oct 12, 2017.

1. TXforever

TXforever Companion

Oct 12, 2017

Hi All,

I’m in my 4th year of teaching 4th grade, and I go home more emotionally drained than the day before, the week before, the month before, the year before. They are so needy. I counted yesterday, and I had 15 kids in 20 minutes come to ask me a question, tell me a story, tattle, etc.

We have a 2 year-old son, and I feel like the worst mom ever because I’m so drained I can’t wait for bedtime because I need some peace and quiet and time when someone doesn’t need something from me.

There’s a possibility of a 7/8 ELA position opening up in my district. I know each grade level has challenges, and it’s kind of a trade off. But, I’m considering applying.

Anyway made a jump this big? My degree is elementary, so I can teach up to 8th in everything except math. But, I have an additional certification for middle level English.

3. Fun_Teacher

Fun_Teacher Companion

Oct 12, 2017

I do not feel that it would be a big leap, in regards to teaching styles. Eight Graders are easier to manage, because of the maturity and the continued understanding of boundaries. Of course, 7th/8th graders are older and bigger.
    It would be fun.
    Teaching MS Eng. would not be as difficult as 4th grade. The curriculum would be different and your schedule. Definitely look into it.

TXforever likes this.
  4. TXforever

TXforever Companion

Oct 12, 2017

I’ve taught 6th ELA and enjoyed it. One of my biggest concerns with 7/8 is discipline. Elementary kids still want to please you, for the most part. I know what works as far as consequences with elem kiddos. I have zero clue what would work with 7/8 graders.

5. Fun_Teacher

Fun_Teacher Companion

Oct 13, 2017

Hi.
    For MS Students, here is the 5-step discipline model.
    8th graders may have more bigger misconducts, but generally understood classroom behavior.