Elementary School Furniture

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by hbjchoi, Sep 24, 2012.

1. hbjchoi

hbjchoi New Member

Sep 24, 2012

Hello everyone,

I am posting a thread in regards to elementary school furniture. I am a current student at Pratt Institute (Brooklyn NY) and studying industrial design.

For my senior thesis, I wanted to work on durable furniture that helps facilitate learning in the classrooms. I've visited a few after school programs(and will visit schools soon) and noticed that they lack a lot of necessary tools because of budget cuts or other financial reasons. I wanted to create simple modular pieces that can be constructed into a desk, chair, bookshelf, and cubby holes according to the number of students and needs for a class. I will also be doing a lot of material research to make sure that it will last longer to save money and be better for the environment.

The reason I am posting a thread is to ask for any complaints or relative experiences they have had in their classrooms so that I can incorporate it into my design. I am currently going to visit local schools, but obviously not every school is going to be the same. Please let me know if there is anything I am missing, and some feedback on the idea.

Thanks and have a great day.

3. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Sep 24, 2012

Think about the weight of the objects if they are going to serve multi-purposes. Also can they grow with students?

4. FourSquare

FourSquare Enthusiast

Sep 24, 2012

Adjustable things are great!

Also, things that can't get easily scratched/broken/destroyed.

5. HeatherY

HeatherY Habitué

Sep 25, 2012

Agree about adjustable. One class can have kids of many sizes and body types. Also, things the kids can safely move on their own.

6. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Sep 25, 2012

Washable
    Fadeless (always look as good as new)
    Soundless (My desk tops slam and lockers bang)

7. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Sep 25, 2012