Electronic devices in your classrooms

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Andrew92, Apr 8, 2019.

?

Would you allow or do you encourage the use of electronic devices in your classroom?

1. Yes

12.5%
  2. Yes, but only under certain conditions

50.0%
  3. No

37.5%
  4. Other

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Andrew92

Andrew92 New Member

Apr 8, 2019

Hello, dear teachers.

My name is Andrew and I'm a student of the University of Otago, New Zealand. I am currently doing some research since I am doing a report on whether computers/electronic devices should be allowed or encouraged to be used in the classrooms for learning and what effects that could have. As part of my research, I would like to know your opinion regarding the subject and the context in which you work.

To give a little more information, in my university we are alowed to work with our computers because it is easier and faster to take notes. Moreover, there are classes in which it is almost compulsory to work with either computers or other electronic devices due to de dynamic of the class (such as the class of translation). In addition, our lecturers themselves use powerpoint slides and they even record the classes so we can go over the lecture once again after it had ended in order to complete our notes.So, do you allow electronic devices on your classrooms or encourage your students to use electronic devices? I would appreciate it very much if you could also justify your options.

Thank you for your insights!

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Apr 8, 2019

First of all, bear in mind that I'm at an alternative school that does things non-traditionally. We allow students to listen to music on their phones, provided they wear earphones and can hear the teachers over them. FaceTime, texting, and talking on the phone is out. We also allow students to use laptops to take notes, complete assignments, and do other academic work. They are not to be used recreationally.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous