Eclipse the first day of school??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Sab, Aug 11, 2017.

1. Sab

Sab Rookie

Aug 11, 2017

The eclipse will apparently be most visible at 10:15am on the first day of the school year here. It's my first year teaching, and I don't really know what to do about it...it's a rare event and I kind of feel like I should cover it as a science teacher especially, but I'm not sure I could handle that or how it would go during the the first day of school. Some other district science teachers I've met have already ordered viewing glasses or equipment and I have none of that and no funds or anything. Should I try to do something for it or just let it go?? Does anyone else have an issue with this?

Ram Ochoa likes this.
  3. agdamity

agdamity Enthusiast

Aug 11, 2017

I would talk to your principal to develop a plan. I know my district is not allowing K-2 students to go outside and see it, and all 3-12 grade students will be allowed to go IF the district can find enough special glasses and the parents have signed a permission slip. I agree, it's a very teachable moment, but the potential liability of a kid looking directly at the sun is something to consider.

bella84 likes this.
  4. Sab

Sab Rookie

Aug 11, 2017

I know! I definitely don't want to have them go out and look at it without the right equipment and I feel like it would be a bit chaotic the first day before I know them when we haven't had time to go over rules and procedures or anything. Maybe when I have meetings at my site next week the principal will have a plan for it!

5. blazer

blazer Groupie

Aug 12, 2017 at 3:50 AM

If you can get hold of a telescope you can use it to project the eclipse onto a screen so the whole class can see it at the same time. If you use a translucent screen you can sit kids either side of it.As long as you have a window facing the Sun this can be done indoors.