E-learning and game based learning

Discussion in 'General Education' started by 0opinguo0, Oct 19, 2009.

1. 0opinguo0

0opinguo0 New Member

Oct 19, 2009

Hi
    I am a student at the University of Cumbria starting my second year and would like to start a discussion on the subject of game based learning. I would appreciate it if people could contribute their ideas.

- what are your views and feelings, as a teacher? as a parent? or someone with just general interest?

- what are the advantages/disadvantages of game based learning?

- do you feel there are any social, moral or ethical issues to game based learning?

- if you are a teacher how do you incorporate game based learning into your lessons if at all?

- have you had any feedback on how successful game based learning was?

does any one have any further opinions on the subject of E-learning?

any comments are much appreciated

Thanks
    Helen

3. MathNrd

MathNrd Rookie

Oct 19, 2009

Games can be useful. But I suggest using them in moderation.
    I teach high school math. I use games as a means of reviewing before tests or sometimes as a Friday break. I DO NOT use games as a way to present new material.
    Games make it fun. When we play games I never have to worry about participation.
    Some of the games we play...
    (1) The Review Game
    Split the class up into groups of 3 or 4. Each team picks an appropriate team name. I put a question on the board for team one, if they get it correct then they get a point, if they get it wrong then team two can try to steal the points. The next question goes to team two and so on down the line.
    (2) Jeopardy
    This one takes some work. One of my colleagues made a powerpoint that we use for this.
    (3) Battleship