Does your team leader/grade level chair do get-togethers/meet & greets before school?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Em_Catz, Jul 21, 2014.

1. Em_Catz

Em_Catz Devotee

Jul 21, 2014

This is my first year as a team leader and nearly everyone on my team is new. So, I've reached out to all my teammates to see if anyone's free for an informal "meet and greet" at a local diner.

I thought back to how when I was a new teacher I really appreciated that my teammates reached out to me. We all sat down at a coffee shop for a couple hours and just chatted.

Funny thing is my team leader wasn't there. She ended up being a cool lady, but I quickly learned she's not the type to want to hang out/fraternize outside of school.

What about your all? When you were new, did your team leaders do a meet and greet? Those of you who do not have new teammates, does your grade level chair have get-togethers over the summer?

3. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jul 21, 2014

I'm starting at a new school. I'll be meeting my new teammates sometime this week, but it will be at school. Teachers haven't started back yet, but summer school is going on and teachers are setting up their classrooms.

4. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Jul 22, 2014

We don't have team leaders, but when I was new last year my teammates asked me out to lunch before school started. I definitely appreciated it! We will have a new teammate this year and we've already met her (she came in to shadow me for a couple of days), but we're still going to do a lunch the week before school starts anyway.

In my last school, I met with my new teammates during the school year during their planning period, and it seemed really stiff and awkward. The funny thing is I ended up loving them, but that first meeting definitely didn't put me at ease! I think doing something more "fun" is definitely a good idea!

5. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Jul 22, 2014